The Pencil Pushing Area — One Man's Work-in-Progress

Ramini

Posted in fan art, inks, the works by R.L. Bertulfo II on February 28, 2009

I’ve pencilled, inked and somewhat cleaned (some pencil lines are visible, dammit!lousy me) this piece a little via PS and uploaded it on DA and linked it to a forum that I am irregularly participating in and posted in this here blog now in the wee hours of Saturday and I’m starting to dread that my social life is gradually amounting to zilch/nada/zero. As the wife would aptly say, “Murag alone naman ka karun cige lagi”. Hehehhe.  I’ve even recently neglected Friday night drinking spree with the boys for about a month or so now and the bands kinda getting stale even if we do have a gig coming up I don’t have the urge to be panic and prepare for the gig.  A typical day would be me off to work during the day and right after that  I’d go home and go read something and maybe a little sketch. Internet time is even minimal now and the tube is next to nothing. Maybe its just a phase but then again, maybe not. Nuff said about that.

The image above is my rendition of a character from a popular local radio soap opera during the late 90’s or so, here depicted decapitating the Super Debil Robot. Our neighbors help would blast the volume up during afternoons with programs such as this. We can’t help overhearing the program and get hooked somehow. Let our imaginations run loose as we try to discern the vocal dramatization. Ramini was the recent topic at some forum that I irregularly participate and we were urged to try our rendition of the character. Although this piece was a quickie and an unplanned one, spur of the moment and shit, I get to have the courage to try and ink it though and its a good thing, I guess.  I hope to render it and do it some lineart justice  (notice the poor excuse of a rendered bronze skin, geezus) it terribly deserves soon enuff. For now it will just serve as my quick contribution to the forum and a reason for me to update this blog. Again, nuff said. (@suede and @ramini, tnx for the topic).

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. rey siasar said, on February 28, 2009 at 12:41 PM

    i feel for you man. i have decided a long time ago to quit smoking and stay away from alcoholic drinks that makes me happy. i realized that everytime im drunk, it would take hours for my brain to boot up. so i quit. with that, i have also quit producing events for local bands, because i have this feeling that these bands are being paid by the brewery to make people drink. damn them! i so miss beer!

    well, id like to be honest with you, i really really like how you render the character, but i do think you need to use ur eraser more. those pencil lines are very visible! but all in all, pyter kaayo!

    ill try my ramini today.

  2. R.L. Bertulfo II said, on February 28, 2009 at 2:31 PM

    silly me, i utterly forgot to erase first and then scan the piece, totally,hehehe…kadlawn naman gud pd to, not functioning well while editing it…hehehe.tnx man…ill be waiting for ur rendition of ramini as well…

  3. ayaBee said, on March 18, 2009 at 2:59 PM

    Wow… you’ve got talent.. keep it up

  4. […] to the very popular Cebuano Radio Drama show entitled Ramini: Ang Batang Bronsi related to my post here.  We had a few meet ups last month and things are looking up and up so wish us luck, we need it. […]

  5. NASYO said, on January 12, 2012 at 9:46 PM

    wow.


Leave a Reply

