The Pencil Pushing Area — One Man's Work-in-Progress

So much to do, so little time

Posted in articles by R.L. Bertulfo on April 28, 2009

Over the weekend, I bought a couple of books via my favorite, cheap surplus book binge at The BookSale in eMall here. Hardbound editions of Greg Bear’s Darwin’s Chidren (P125) and one from the tandem of Debrah Doyle and James Macdonald called The Stars Asunder (P10!!!), fairly cheap. I’m a cheapskate. The former author I have always admired and get to read his books with awe and wonder, although its hard SF I tend to skip the very technical pages and its an enjoying read still. The latter authors I have yet to read their works, if I have the time and the inclination to do so. Now, that’s my problem of late. So much books to read yet so little time. The two books mentioned are now part of the stock pile (or boxed pile) that I have accumulated since last two years ago and believe me there are dozens of them waiting to be read. Not to mention that a good friend of mine gave me a complete set of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series hard bound editions too which I thanked him profusely for it and now has become a part of said pile. It’s a shame to let it wait on me and time management is one of my biggest flaws, next to discipline. Good books (for my taste that is, would be fantasy and sci-fi) still waiting to be read. Always on the back of mind’s to-do list that just keeps getting longer in time.

This of late has become a predicament. I have so little time for reading books, which I have always loved doing since I learned how to read, and honing my so called drawing/sketching skills (deluding myself that I have one),  talent or whatever. Plus, as stated in some previous post,  I have to submit some sequentials for an upcoming indie comic book release come end of May 2009 adds up to the situation I am in. Not good.

I relegate myself to just read/surf the internet for easy access to news, blogs, updates chatting, downloading questionable stuff and yada-yada most of the time and I think I am hooked by its accessibility and it is info overload. It’s a bad thing, I must admit and I hope to rectify that matter all together over the week, so help me god. 🙂

I promised the wife last night that I would make some kind of time management list thingee that I will slap my face with everytime I productively procrastinate and/or lazying around. Aside from working 8 hours every week days which is obligatory, the remaining 16 hours  and weekends would be set aside for personal and family time which is not much to divide my time with. Every time I go home after work would roughly be equated to reading time (including comicbooks, I guess), personal necessities time, drawing/sketching time, internet/blogging/oggling time and finally, come here baby time (hu-hummm). And if you guys ever had this problem and already solved such I would gladly consider your tips and tricks on this matter.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] The Pencil Pushing Area placed an observative post today on So much to do, so little timeHere’s a quick excerptOver the weekend, I bought a couple of books via my favorite, cheap surplus book binge at The BookSale in eMall here. Hardbound editions of Greg Bear’s Darwin’s Chidren (P125) and one from the tandem of Debrah Doyle and James Macdonald called The Stars Asunder (P10!!!), fairly cheap. I’m a cheapskate. The former author I have always admired and get to read his books with awe and wonder, although its hard SF I tend to skip the very technical pages and its an enjoying read still. The latter author […]

  2. motmot said, on April 28, 2009 at 8:38 PM

    Mao jud Chum, nag panic na pud ko ron kay hapit na deadline then daghan kaayo project ni sod namo ni bobols ron,lisod pag budget sa oras, hapit na deadline.hehehehe!!!!!

  3. R.L. Bertulfo, II said, on April 29, 2009 at 9:14 AM

    hehehhe..and to think ur ahead of us ni suede and u r still stressed out on the deadline. all the more reason for me to be worried than u 🙂 fight the good fight ta ani bai

  4. rey siasar said, on May 20, 2009 at 11:02 AM

    so how many pages have you done so far chum? hehehe!

    • R.L. Bertulfo, II said, on May 20, 2009 at 2:03 PM

      @ rey hmmmm…ive got all 8 pages mapped out and done……..in my head…heheheheh….ur way ahead of me man with ur half page and all 🙂

      @ mark hey, thnx for dropping by as usual man, hope i can update as much

  5. Mark Rosario said, on May 20, 2009 at 11:52 AM

    That title really reminds me of an old Arkarna song. Hahah! Anyways, just dropping by 🙂


Leave a Reply

