The Pencil Pushing Area — One Man's Work-in-Progress

Sketcheroo Wednesday

Posted in fan art, inks, lineart, sketches by R.L. Bertulfo on June 3, 2009
Long Live the Bat

Long Live the Bat

This is day two of my self imposed sketch-a-day program. Although way too late, this is a tribute piece to the original Batman who died recently on Final Crisis issue no. 6 fried in the hands of Darksied nonetheless (correct me if I’m wrong, low memory me).  I just want to draw him today so I ended up with this one, pencils over hurried inks as usual. Trying out the Uni Pin that I get to buy today using it together with the Sakura Calligraphic pens. Also, sketching it on a recently purchased sketch pad Berkeley, cheap and good, getting the hang of  it. I don’t know if the paper on the sketch pad was intended to be inked on but I did it anyways.

Getting comfortable with the style that I am currently pursuing akin to that Kieth and Wayshack guy and terribly doing it. Notice all cross-hatchings in chaos mode flying in all directions specially visible on the arms part, lighting effects in disarray and inks hastily done. Well, forgivable because its just a sketch, I guess. I will fine tune this hopefully on future sketcheroos when procrastinating come a-knockin’.

I am just pumped up now. Hope I can graduate into sequentials soon because that’s what I am aiming at but not even tried to do even now. Just doing pin-up sketches for now. Comments highly appreciated. 🙂

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ariel said, on June 3, 2009 at 11:16 PM

    Definitely Sam Keith yung jaw and yung big guns (arms). Nice work! 😀

    • R.L. Bertulfo, II said, on June 3, 2009 at 11:28 PM

      tnx fr viewing sir, i dont know if what i am doing is a good thing but well it is a work in progress after all, for now im doing this but in the long run i get to find my own calling 🙂

  2. rey siasar said, on June 4, 2009 at 2:20 PM

    bai! was really shocked when i saw this piece! great job! i really like the style! keep on it and i am hoping to see sequential art in the future!

  3. Mark Rosario said, on June 6, 2009 at 12:07 PM

    I like this one the best. 🙂


Leave a Reply

