The Pencil Pushing Area — One Man's Work-in-Progress

Sketchercise Wednesday 2

Posted in fan art, sketches by R.L. Bertulfo on June 10, 2009

Fantastic Storm

Fantastic Storm

On with my futility, sketchercise for tonight is Johnny Storm of the Fantastic Four. No reason really, just popped up in my head this flame head.  The flame effect was not what I expected it to be, lesson learned I guess. I sketch without real theme or focus in mind, just what I can come up with every time when I get home from work, randomly plucked out in thin air. I don’t know why but I am sketching with my previous style as to the one I’m gearing at from the beginning of this sketchercise series which is drawing in the cartoony/exaggerated  vein. I don’t know whats wrong with me tonight I just can’t help it. Anyways, hope tomorrow I’m in tune to my objectives. As usual, comments and suggestions are highly welcomed if not begged upon.

Just a wee update on that SDR thing we are doing, Motmot’s project is almost done and hope we can release it on the targetted date come July 2009. Excited with that. My filler piece is still in its virtual phase and/or its all still in my head waiting to be fleshed out, its only a two pager and I can’t seem to get it off my system and materialized, loser me. Not a good thing. I wonder how the Suede is going. Nuff said.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ish said, on June 10, 2009 at 10:18 PM

    this sketch is pretty neat, keep it up! 😉

  2. Ariel said, on June 10, 2009 at 11:06 PM

    i like the concept of smaller fires uniting into one huge flame towering over this figure, something i’ve never seen others draw the human torch. that said, i think you need to lessen the shadows defining the muscles or maybe it doesn’t have to be that dark making him look all shiny like the silver surfer. yun lang so far observations ko dito. 😀

    • R.L. Bertulfo, II said, on June 11, 2009 at 9:44 AM

      tnx for the comments sir, coming from a pro such as urself, highly appreciated. 🙂 I was unconsciously doing a cross between the original Human Torch when I was drawing the flames which is like a burst of flames rather than Johnny’s glowing flames bit (if I am not mistaken) and about lessening the definitions id have to agree with you, the sketch made it look like the flames are on its way to be extinguished na thus more definitions…hehehe…

  3. motmot said, on June 11, 2009 at 9:02 AM

    Nice work chum!

    • R.L. Bertulfo, II said, on June 11, 2009 at 9:45 AM

      next up mots ill do my best to do a Captain N12 sketch for you within the week !yay! 🙂

  4. rey siasar said, on June 11, 2009 at 2:14 PM

    ooooooooh! this is nice!

  5. R.L. Bertulfo, II said, on June 11, 2009 at 5:40 PM

    hello everyone, tnx for taking the time to view this post, much appreciated sirs and mam. 🙂 hope I can pull off a more polished lineart and hopefully sequentials and not just sketches such as these the sooner the better


Leave a Reply

