The Pencil Pushing Area — One Man's Work-in-Progress

Sketchercise Thursday 3

Posted in fan art, inks, lineart, sketches by R.L. Bertulfo on June 25, 2009

Lady Trons gonna kick my shiny behind for this Fail!

Lady Tron's gonna kick my shiny behind for this Fail!

I was playing a tug-o-war in mind whether or not I’m gonna post this piece today but I posted it anyway for the lack of better judgement on my part. I am recently reading a Majestic TPB and came across Lady Tron in them pages and got me thinking, she looked easy enough to draw and stuff, with all the cyber crap 90% of her body is holding, yeah, I can pull it off. Unfortunately, no. I sucked at drawing women or cybernetically enhanced women for that matter. I make up a thousand excuses before I venture in with pencil in hand when it comes to drawing women. I tremble at even the thought of drawing one but every once in a while I save enough courage to actually do one and as always I FAIL miserably. This is not even a full body sketch. I even cropped out the lower half of her body just to compromise on posting this.

Well, I promise to do more sketches of women now and then even if I sucked and even if it kills me. I’ve done this self imposed sketch-a-day program to help me conquer my lineart weaknesses  so help the gods that I would atleast try sketch practicing drawing women in order to be more whollistic. I just can’t draw only men and weird thingees exclusively, that would be impractical. For some time in the future I would have to draw women whether I like it or not, much like backgrounds, and hands and feet plus  the lineart would be too gay, unbalanced without them. Hopefully I can upload a more decent one other than this. For now you’ll have to contend with commenting on this one.

Self – deprecation/observations:

1.Her neck is too long and skewed.

2.The leather jacket flaps are way too large to a point of dragon wings and wrong shading/lighting effect for it.

3.Cybernetic parts would’ve been more metal like than actual.

4.Her damn hair is supposed to be punk rock. Not teepee-like.

5. Boobs.Boobs. Boods.Work on it.

Nuff said. 🙂

Tagged with: , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. John Amor said, on June 25, 2009 at 11:44 PM

    Important thing to remember about drawing women is to keep the lines nice and fluid. Loose sketches always help. When I want to make curves, I clutch the pencil and hold my entire lower arm and not just my wrist. Try it, might work for you… or I could just be full of shit. Hehah!

  2. R.L. Bertulfo, II said, on June 26, 2009 at 10:20 AM

    hehehe,ur never full of shit man, ur n d zone so ill keep ur suggestions in mind always 🙂


Leave a Reply

