The Pencil Pushing Area — One Man's Work-in-Progress

Unprepared–My sequential Oddventures

Posted in comics, SDR Comics, the works by R.L. Bertulfo on August 18, 2009

I haven’t been posting much lately because of reasons posted in the last post here but what the heck, might as well post something even if its half baked, I’ve been posting crap since day one why not stop now. I am really trying to do sequentials for the upcoming SDR Comics Anthology release slated this September and it is quite nearing now that I am kinda stressed lately eventhough its just a deadline that we guys at SDR Comics are trying to set us up so that we have to push through any project we happen to be partaking. It is self-imposed therefore my stress levels are self-imposed also. Anyways, here are two pages worth of my stab at doing sequential art a.k.a. comic book story telling. Notice that I posted no dialogues whatsoever and been wanting too just to make it more clear the story I have in mind but alas, me no expert on them things as putting word balloons via digital and I am trying to learn the ropes per se nowadays, they say Corel Draw does a better job at doing this and for now I am reading the Help Section of it and left feeling unhelped in the process. So for now, minus the dialogue/word balloons.

Look Ma! No balloons! Geezz...crap crap crap. As for the art, crap still
Look Ma! No balloons! Geezz…crap crap crap. As for the art, crap still

The first piece here is a one-pager story kinda like a vignette of sorts akin to that of prose.  I am entitling it “Gladiator” and hoping that its kinda obvious at first glance. Its like a scene from a memory and I hope to do more of the like soonest when I get the hang of things. Notice (like anyone flying f@#$ cares) that I did a different style approach to this one, just black areas all over albeit too much and no visible cross-hatchings.

OMFG! Pathetic excuse for buildings and structures, Que Horror!
OMFG! Pathetic excuse for buildings and structures, Que Horror!

This one is gonna be a six-pager one shot story to be entitled “All in a Days Work” and I do hope so, in my mind it already is that is. Page two is on its way. Different approach as to the first one.  I have come to a conclusion that I will draw in a certain way whatever the mood takes me on the job at hand. I just make do of what I can come up with in the first place and just Go!Go!Go! like an energizer bunny and after its done then life goes on so to speak. Make up the next time. Drawing structures and backgrounds are friggin hard I tell ya, its not for the faint hearted. I am even struggling with anatomy the more so with perspectives and backgrounds. Its a punishing affair but a great learning experience. What better way to learn that to do it first hand no matter how pathetic your version of some thing here and there just pray to the gods that whatever you drew on the page would somehow get through with the readers and make them go Ah! OIC! and not WTF! That’s not a tree!

These will be included hopefully in the anthology come September. Must pull it off, must not give in, must think I can do it.

Tagged with: , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. rey siasar said, on August 18, 2009 at 4:09 PM

    you are making it harder for me man.

  2. motmot said, on August 19, 2009 at 9:27 AM

    Payter Chum!!!

  3. […] thing, I’ve revised page 1 of the 6 pager submission that was mentioned in this post here, with this one here because I kinda did not like the previous one I did and I do hope I pulled it […]

  4. Michael Chevy said, on September 1, 2009 at 3:33 AM

    This is amazing stuff.

    • R.L. Bertulfo, II said, on September 1, 2009 at 11:14 AM

      hey man, tnx for dropping by me blog, im still learning the ropes on sequential art and hope to be better. :p


Leave a Reply

