The Pencil Pushing Area — One Man's Work-in-Progress

Inking duties and Just like old times

Posted in inks, SDR Comics, the works by R.L. Bertulfo on August 23, 2009

My good friend Zerulean today handled me his 3-page pencils for a collaboration we are doing for the upcoming anthology. I have mentioned in the past posts about him, we were college buds before and we used to cook up our own superheroic comics back then, to practice our abilities and to waste time with. I was always the writer and the inker and he the penciller then and for our collaboration now the partnership is still the same. It’s almost 15 years since we done this kinda shindig again and I am really excited about this . I have been practicing inking over his work again today with a discarded piece of page he drew on and work from there then on and posted below. He changed his style drastically with this one with a lot of lines and hatches which I am not used to with his materials and as he said earlier it has been some time since he did a sequential thingee. It’s a learning process all over again for the both of us and I do hope I did justice to his pencilled piece when I’m through with all 3 pages. Here’s the practice piece we did. Comments highly appreciated.

Pencils-E. Espinosa Inks-R.L.Bertulfo

Pencils-E. Espinosa Inks-R.L.Bertulfo

Another thing, I’ve revised page 1 of the 6 pager submission that was mentioned in this post here, with this one here because I kinda did not like the previous one I did and I do hope I pulled it off somehow:

And here is page 3 2 of the above related story, the last panel is still unfinished with a very small detail of the antagonist destroying the building but what the heck I’m gonna post it anyway.

Nuff said. I’d better finish this up to page 6 before the deadline hits me and to top it off I have yet to learn to put word balloons on these babies. Geez. Wish me luck.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. motmot said, on August 24, 2009 at 11:22 AM

    Hehehehehe!!!! Hapit na inyo deadline!!!! Pater wine chum.

  2. Bill Bartmann said, on September 2, 2009 at 12:11 PM

    Excellent site, keep up the good work


Leave a Reply

