The Pencil Pushing Area — One Man's Work-in-Progress

Update: On Melancholy, Life, Limb and some oddly good cheer

Posted in cebu, Comic Books, geeks, SDR Comics by R.L. Bertulfo on September 9, 2010

Hello folks, I am not dead yet just coping with life’s trials and tribulations. Nothing that I can’t handle. Hey, gotta wake up and smell the carcass sometimes. Been neglecting the world, this blog and the internets for  that matter there are more pressing matters and decisions to be made and a lot of changes came thru this pathetic existence and it kinda disorients my daily happenings and mishaps. The day job demands, chronic illness threatening a lifestyle change, depression hanging around some near corner waiting patiently but  still a sliver of hope comes from expecting to join the ranks of fatherhood, a distant yet supporting family and just that nagging stubborness not to give in totally to all the negativity. Life goes on as they say, so, I better go onwards.

Haven’t really drawn in ages and a page or two I started drawing set for another Super Debil Robot Comics release I think will never see the light of day or in print. I don’t know if I my drawing mojo will ever come back. All I gotta do is wait timidly for now. The least I could do was to contribute to a collaboration I did with this guy (we did a collab piece for Sugbo Jam 1 also) and I thank him for it for finishing the 10-page lineart as quickly as he surely can. All shortcomings to be worked out (i.e. dialogues/scripting/lettercraft) are now up to me to overcome and (believe me I got much to write onto his layouts starting today) finish the story we started ready for Sugbo Jam No. 4 to come out this September 25, 201o and I do hope the SDR guys would wait on it.

Enough with my pathetic predicament and on to a more lively note, speaking of September 25th and why that specific date to release the comicbook, well, the 1st Cebu Comics Convention is finally pushing thru on that momentous day due solely to the hard work done by the great SuedeMonkey and Motmot and Bobols. Awesome guys to pull teeth to make that event possible. Salutations are in order for these guys. And we really hope to see you guys there come September 25th and witness the event. Take a look at the awesome preview of things to come below:

Makes any geek tingle in anticipation doesn’t it. Nuff said.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Chummy Bertulfo […]


Leave a Reply

