The Pencil Pushing Area — One Man's Work-in-Progress

Boy Sipok

Posted in comics, SDR Comics, the works by R.L. Bertulfo on October 13, 2010

It took three days in the making. Last September 25, 2010 Boy Sipok: Unathorized Edition debuted at the 1st Cebu Comics Convention at the Ayala Activity Center, Cebu with a silent bang. All 50 printed issues of it displayed at the sparse SDR Comics booth and 37 people bought it with a hint of trepidation in their eyes (hehehehe) during the con and for that I am thankful for their hard earned P10.00 for the 8 pages of comics they bought. Boy Sipok is a hurriedly done comic-strip with little planning and many grueling thought on how to go about it that would squeeze right within those three day do-it-yourself production deadline that included the photocopy/folding/stapling the comics in the early morn of the Convention itself and by golly I unbelievably pulled off. I was afraid then that our SDRC booth at the Con would be lacking anything to peddle with so I decided for myself and to some extent with Elton also, to make a freebie portfolio to hand out to the Con attendees of our so called art as originally planned by the SDR guys and being that 2/3’s of the SDR Crew were busy with preparing for the event for the last month and I was the one left with nothing better to do and I felt I had to do something for SDR Comics in general, the least I can do and so I did and glad I did.

Boy Sipok, as far as my translating abilities are concerned, roughly means “Angry Man” or “Crazy Man” with Sipok meaning to go crazy-all-of-a-sudden in bisaya (i.e., nisipok nasad ang utok ni boy) and boy as a popular Pinoy nickname to a kid/adult as an pre-additive to denote his famous ability  (i.e. Boy Bato, Boy Negro, Boy Tapang). I do hope someone would enlighten me on this moreover and I apologize if I didn’t make a dent on your understanding zone.

Anyway (copyright Tom Perez hehehehe), all 5 page strips were usually gags/situationals that I made up with no clear objective in mind  illustrating how Boy Sipok would interact/react to given certain events that occur in his limited comic strip life and so far I think I will stick to this formula for now and not go on to full page story like comic strips for I haven’t got the talent in the first place and let it be clear and known right here in this here blog that this is my first foray in doing comic strips as opposed to what I usually do which is in the super hero sequential vein and so far I am liking it, liking it good. I don’t even miss drawing muscled bound superheroes to date or I’m just too lazy to go back to practicing cross-hatchings and stuff.  By the way before I forget, friends come up to me and say that I resemble the character too closely for my own good. Really?! Can’t tell myself…you think?!

I’m planning on making a web comics site for all things Boy Sipok maybe tomorrow and everyone knows that tomorrow moves yet a day after so updates will be in order soonest as I can. It will be in English as oppose to the first 5 strips which were in the local Bisayan dialect as insistently suggested by the SDR Boys and some friends who thinks that voicing it in English would have a wider appeal because we live in place where every region has its own dialect and English is kinda like our  3rd or 2nd language, a more plausible approach I guess. I don’t know how this will affect the strip and hopefully I pull it off fingers and legs crossed. Nuff said. So, keep posted, stay sexy and tuned and thanks for the read.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Chummy Bertulfo, Chummy Bertulfo. Chummy Bertulfo said: Boy Sipok: http://wp.me/plGQy-8u […]

  2. […] some would say its me personified but I have yet to see a resemblance. You guys can read this post, or this to help speed things […]


Leave a Reply

